Integrated material procurement for clinics along the supply chain.

Full supply chain support through and innovative web-based solution.

Challenge

Rising cost pressure in health care, health department austerity and concentration in the industry are causing hospitals to seek new ways to make their services even more cost-effective and efficient.

GEBLOG was founded in 2006 as a service and purchasing community. Its purpose is to sustainably strengthen the independence and self-administration of the affiliated hospitals and health care institutions with a broad and professional range of offerings and services.

Efforts to reduce costs included a web-based solution to optimize information and material flow. The clinics needed to be able to bundle material deliveries, order them together and order them from their own central warehouse.

Solution

Since the direct connection of the various materials management systems to the central logistics department initially caused too high a cost and took too long for the materials management suppliers, a solution was conceived that was pragmatic and fast, with significantly fewer adaptations by the materials management systems and provided maximum comfort for the ordering departments of the hospitals and central logisticians.

The web-based OP4 system realized and introduced in 2008 offered all departments of the three affiliated hospitals (University Clinics of Balgrist, Uster, and Wetzikon) the possibility to directly record their material requirements per department and to transmit the order electronically to the central warehouse. The purchases were automatically processed in the logistics system and the delivery made to the department in the hospital the next day. The quantities procured were periodically adjusted with the hospital’s own materials management system.

Orders from suppliers were consolidated automatically and across hospitals by OP4 and ordered electronically via an intermediary (Medical Columbus). The material ordered was delivered to the central warehouse by the various suppliers. The goods receipts were available to the departments via OP4.

OP4 was in productive use for around eight years until it was discontinued and replaced in 2015 by the direct materials management connections to the logistics system implemented in the meantime.

Our contribution

  • Conception and development of the web-based solution
  • Bundling of the material order
  • Supply according to Kanban
  • Flexible connection to the materials management and logistics systems using EDI (XML)
  • Productive operation of the operative solution
  • Second- and third-level support

Employees specific know-how, which made the solution possible.

Roger Schneider

Project Manager and Lead Business Analyst: Fast and pragmatic realisation of an idea for the digitalisation of logistics in the healthcare market with direct customer benefit.

Linkedin

https://his.ch/wp-content/uploads/TM_Heeb.jpeg
The web-based solution OP4 enabled us to control the order cycle between the clinics and the central warehouse as well as the suppliers in a sustainable way and to optimize it for the hospitals.

Christian Heeb, CEO
Geblog Med AG

Would you like more information?

Peter Aemisegger
Business Development Manager
P +41 44 445 69 69
Send Email

Integrierte Materialbeschaffung für Kliniken entlang der Supply Chain.

Vollständige Unterstützung der Lieferkette durch innovative webbasierte Lösung.

Herausforderung

Der steigende Kostendruck im Gesundheitswesen, Sparvorgaben der Gesundheitsdirektionen und der Konzentrationsprozess der Industrie führen dazu, dass Spitäler neue Wege suchen, um ihre Leistungen noch kostengünstiger und effizienter zu erbringen.

Die GEBLOG wurde im Jahr 2006 als Dienstleistungs- und Einkaufsgemeinschaft gegründet. Sie hat den Zweck, mit einem breiten und professionellen Angebots- und Leistungsspektrum die Unabhängigkeit und Selbstverwaltung der angeschlossenen Spitäler und Institutionen des Gesundheitswesens nachhaltig zu stärken.

Bei den Anstrengungen, die Kosten zu senken, wurde unter anderem eine webbasierte Lösung zwecks Optimierung des Informations- und Materialflusses angegangen. Die Kliniken sollten Materiallieferungen bündeln, gemeinsam bestellen und ab dem eigenen Zentrallager beziehen können.

Lösung

Da die direkte Anbindung der verschiedenen Systeme der Materialwirtschaft (MAWI) an die zentrale Logistik initial bei den MAWI-Lieferanten zu hohe Kosten ausgelöst und zu lange gedauert hätte, wurde eine Lösung konzipiert, die pragmatisch und schnell mit bedeutend weniger Anpassungen seitens der MAWI-Systeme auskam und ein Höchstmass an Komfort für die bestellenden Abteilungen der Spitäler und den zentralen Logistiker ermöglichte.

Das 2008 realisierte und eingeführte webbasierte System OP4 bot allen Abteilungen der angeschlossenen drei Spitäler (Uniklinik Balgrist, Uster und Wetzikon) die Möglichkeit, ihren Materialbedarf pro Abteilung direkt zu erfassen und die Bestellung dem Zentrallager elektronisch zu übermitteln. Die Bezüge wurden automatisch im Logistiksystem verarbeitet, und die Lieferung erfolgte tags darauf in die Abteilung im Spital. Die bezogenen Mengen wurden periodisch mit dem spitaleigenen MAWI-System abgeglichen.

Bestellungen bei Lieferanten wurden durch OP4 automatisch und spitalübergreifend konsolidiert und via einen Intermediär (Medical Columbus) elektronisch bestellt. Das bestellte Material wurde von den verschiedenen Lieferanten ans Zentrallager geliefert. Die Wareneingänge standen den Abteilungen via OP4 zur Verfügung.

OP4 war bis zu seiner Einstellung rund acht Jahre im produktiven Einsatz und wurde im Jahr 2015 durch die zwischenzeitlich umgesetzten direkten MAWI-Anbindungen ans Logistiksystem abgelöst.

Unser Beitrag

  • Konzeption und Entwicklung der webbasierten Lösung
  • Bündelung der Materialbestellung
  • Versorgung gemäss Kanban
  • Flexible Anbindung an das MAWI-System sowie an das Logistiksystem mittels EDI (XML)
  • Produktiver Betrieb der operativen Lösung
  • Second- und Third-Level-Support
https://his.ch/wp-content/uploads/TM_Heeb.jpeg
Die webbasierte Lösung OP4 ermöglichte uns den Bestellkreislauf zwischen den Kliniken und dem zentralen Lager sowie den Lieferanten nachhaltig zu kontrollieren und für die Spitäler zu optimieren.

Christian Heeb, CEO
Geblog Med AG

Möchten Sie weitere Informationen?

Peter Aemisegger
Business Development Manager
T +41 44 445 69 69
E-Mail senden